What I Didn’t Like About The Hunger Games

The Hunger Games is an interesting and engaging movie, but it isn’t Toy Story 3.

However, I can certainly recommend the flick—it’s good. I can also recommend that you get your tickets early (but I’d never pay that Fandango surcharge).

Still, since much of life is done by exception, here’s what I didn’t like about it:

  1. The portrayal of Washington DC as having mountains around it and in other ways not quite being Washington DC. What’s up with that?
  2. The introduction of virtual war dogs which somehow became real.
  3. Donald Sutherland. Yes, he’s annoying, despicable, and greasy, but the full strength of those traits don’t quite make it all the way into his on-screen persona.

How would I describe the movie? The intersection of The Running Man (game show theme),  The Fifth Element (freaky future people), The Grapes of Wrath (dystopia among the have-nots), Nineteen Eighty Four (hey, big brother), The Truman Show (created reality), and Lord of the Flies (juvenile brutality).

I have no knowledge of the other books in the trilogy, but here’s my prediction:

The second movie has the protagonist serving as a mentor for her younger sister who has been tagged as “tribute” in a future Hunger Games (because of how the heroine upstaged the state).

The third movie has the protagonist in leading a revolution against the state.

About Professor Mockumental

I enjoy almost all forms of parody, buffoonery, and general high-jinks. Satire has shown itself to be an essential societal need; I therefore humbly offer my services in such a manner. I enjoy mocking the usual suspects at the New York Times (Charles Blows, Moron Dowd, and the earth is flat guy) and Washington Post (Dana Milkbag, E.D. Dijon, and David Ignoramus). There are many others as well, but sadly, there are always too many targets and too little time.

Posted on March 26, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. oh, book 2 is much worse than that….I was suckered into reading them…..I”m about 1/2 way through the 2nd…and it gets worse………

    • The Hunger Games ended at a logical break point, but it seems clear there is much more gold to be mined in this endeavor. I think a great book is more likely to be created (needed: great story and great writing) than it is to make a great movie (MANY more variables).

Leave a Reply

