Bono: hypocrite, idiot, or jackass?

Back when U2 just made great music and before they became a brand, they penned the following lines in their song God Part II:

Don’t believe in rock ‘n’ roll
Can really change the world
As it spins in revolution
It spirals and turns
I…I believe in love

Don’t believe in the 60’s
The golden age of pop
You glorify the past
When the future dries up
Heard a singer on the radio late last night
He says he’s gonna kick the darkness
’til it bleeds daylight
I…I believe in love

I remain a fan of U2’s music and view them as the next best band of all time. Still, Bono’s hypocrisy is hard to take.

I suppose it’s yet another example of Pay as I say and not as I pay; Do as I say and not as I do.

In the meantime, I believe in love.

don’t believe rock and roll can really change the world…
About Professor Mockumental

I enjoy almost all forms of parody, buffoonery, and general high-jinks. Satire has shown itself to be an essential societal need; I therefore humbly offer my services in such a manner. I enjoy mocking the usual suspects at the New York Times (Charles Blows, Moron Dowd, and the earth is flat guy) and Washington Post (Dana Milkbag, E.D. Dijon, and David Ignoramus). There are many others as well, but sadly, there are always too many targets and too little time.

Posted on May 22, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

